How Does the ITIL 4 Certification Scheme Work?

ITIL sets a global standard for ITSM, but how do you gain an ITIL certification? This video looks at the ITIL 4 certification path, from ITIL Foundation through to ITIL Master. Those certified in ITIL V3 can also find out how to update their qualifications without having to start from scratch

Published: Tuesday, February 12, 2019

When ITIL 4 was announced, it caused a huge stir in the world of ITSM. Both students and practitioners wanted to know how it would be different to ITIL v3, when the new version would be released and, most importantly, how they could become certified.

In this video, Mike from Good e-Learning discusses the new ITIL 4 certification path. After completing ITIL 4 Foundation, students can choose from two intermediate paths: ‘ITIL Managing Professional (MP)’ and ‘ITIL Strategic Leader (SL)’. Completing both will allow candidates to apply to become ITIL Masters.

A crucial part of the new ITIL certification path is the ‘Managing Professional Transition’ module. This allows those who have already reached the rank of ITIL Expert in ITIL V3 to update their certifications without having to start from scratch.

ITIL 4 Certification Path

Good e-Learning is one of the world’s leading providers for online training. Our extensive IT Service Management (ITSM) course portfolio covers both ITIL V3 and ITIL 4, providing everything students need to either get certified or reach a point where they can update their certifications. For more information, check out our article on the benefits of ITIL 4.

ITIL 4 Foundation Training
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
  • LinkedIn Share
Our Accreditations