Training courses for IT Service Management

ITIL is a well-established framework of best practice in IT service management that is used by organizations all around the world and has been developed due to the increasing dependent on IT within organizations in orders to meet and achieve their corporate goals and business needs.

As a result organizations require a reliable, successful, effective and high quality IT service.

ITIL will enable you utilize and implement IT service and capabilities to provide and maximize value within your organization. By adopting the method and service within ITIL will increase productivity, optimize costs and improve customer experience.

IT Service Management Testimonial
Team Discount Banner
Featured free trial module: ITIL Service Transition (ST)
Free Trial!
Why try a free trial?
  • Get an idea of what a Good e-Learning online training course is like 1st hand - it's completely free!
  • Experience interactive learning techniques including video, audio, interactive diagrams, downloadable resources, and an end of module quiz to test your knowledge and see where to improve!
Launch the Trial  

Explore IT Service Management in more detail:

Welcome to the online center for IT Service Management information and advice, free learning resources, and accredited online training courses.

For a quick overview of IT Service Management, what it is, and the many benefits for yourself, your team, or your organization, just watch our handy video guide! For more guides and promos, visit our free video library.

Alternatively, click and expand the tabs below to learn more about the history of IT Service Management, it's evolution within the business and IT industry, and how understanding and practicing it can benefit you and your organization.

  • A brief history of IT Service Management

    • During the 1980's and early 90's, organizations found it increasingly difficult to keep up with the rapid growth of technology whilst also meeting corporate objectives.

      Recognizing this growth as a potential problem for organizations (of any size) to evolve and adapt, a set of common guidelines using a process driven approach was devised.

      It was accepted that in-order for any successful organization to meet it's business goals, it was important to ensure that the right processes, people and technology were in place. This would become the sole purpose of IT Service Management.

      IT Service Management (ITSM) provides a strategic approach to managing, delivering, and improving the way organizations handle and use information technology which is a crucial requirement in today’s fast-paced IT dependent world.

      Execution of ITSM processes in an organization, especially those processes that are more workflow-driven ones, can benefit significantly from being supported with specialized software tools such as ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library), a framework that provides best practices for aligning IT with business needs.

      Good e-Learning are one of the only providers of online ITIL training from Foundation, right the way through to Expert level!

  • ITIL® Foundation & Intermediate

    • Foundation Level

      ITIL Foundation provides you with a general awareness of the Service Lifecycle and all the key information included within the Lifecycle. The course is structured and focused on the connections between the stages in the lifecycle, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices.

      The main objectives of the ITIL Foundation qualification is to ensure that you have gained an understanding of the ITIL terminology, structure and basic concepts that comprehends the core principles of ITIL practices for service management.

      Gaining an ITIL Foundation Level certification will enable you to progress your development in IT Service Management, and is a pre-requisite for the next level of ITIL qualifications; ITIL Intermediate, MALC and Expert.


      The ITIL Intermediate level is a dual stream modular series the service lifecycle and capability which include their own set of qualifications.

      Service Lifecycle

      The service lifecycle series includes:

      Service Capability

      The service capability series includes:

      The capability series provides you with a detailed understanding of the processes and roles involved within the ITIL service management practices that will benefit you and your organization. The main focus for these courses is to provide you with the necessary information and breakdown for the process activities and the execution and use of processes throughout the Service Lifecycle.

      Managing Across the Lifecycle

      This is a single qualification (MALC) within the ITIL scheme which completes the lifecycle and capability intermediate streams. This course focuses on the vital knowledge required to implement and manage the necessary skills within ITIL practices.

  • The ITIL® Qualification & Credit Structure

    • The ITIL Qualification Structure

      The ITIL qualification structure provides a modular approach to the ITIL framework, and is comprised of a series of qualifications focused on different aspects of ITIL best practice to various degrees of depth and detail.

      The tiered structure of the qualification offers candidates flexibility relating to the different disciplines and areas of ITIL and the ability to focus their studies on key areas of interest.

      The diagram illustrates the breakdown of the ITIL qualifications available that will support and provide you with the information required for individuals and organizations with the ITIL service management practices.

      By completing the ITIL Foundation course, you will gain an understanding of the importance of service management, both to the IT service provider, and to its customers.

      ITIL Intermediate qualifications are the next stage. They have a modular structure with each level providing a different focus on IT Service Management.

      The Credit System

      To ensure that you gain the best possible outcome and a wide range of knowledge within ITIL qualifications across the curriculum, certain prerequisites and mandatory credits are required.

      In the table below you will be able view the credits required to achieve each ITIL qualification:

      ITIL Structure

      Click the image to enlarge

      We recommend that if you aim to achieve your ITIL Expert qualification you must gain a well-rounded knowledge of ITIL. To ensure that you achieve this you should select a variety of Intermediate modules which complement each other. When selecting your Intermediate modules of study they should cover each of the 5 practice areas which will give you the knowledge required of the full ITIL best practices.

      The scheme has been designed with two principles the service lifecycle and capability. The two streams have been developed to provide you with a balanced coverage of the ITIL principles. There are other routes to ITIL expert which offer a similar balance and some possible combinations are show in the table below. It is not a mandatory requirement that you should choose one of the options below although selecting one of these options will give you the best possible outcome, knowledge and skills base within ITIL.

      ITIL Structure

      Click the image to enlarge

      All of our ITIL courses have been accredited by EXIN, who are licensed by AXELOS as an Examination Institute for the ITIL® Foundation, Intermediate, & Expert Certificates in IT Service Management.

Our latest customer success stories! Via Trustpilot Logo